Home > Uncategorized > I Am Every Man (II)

I Am Every Man (II)

Suddenly, in the midst of a cab ride:

Taxi uncle (looking at me in the rear view mirror): 你是中国人啊.

Me: Err, no…

Taxi uncle (insisting): 你几时来新加坡?是来这里读书?

Me: No, 我是新加坡人.

Taxi uncle (slightly perturbed): 真的不是中国人?我刚才看到你,以为你是中国人.

Previously, the question “你是不是中国人?” meant there was doubt in the minds of my fellow countrymen that i was fully Chinese. And i’d thought that since the colour of my hair and pupils had darkened considerably, i would no longer be taken as a foreigner in my own country (cf I Am Every Man (I)). But it seems that the concept of foreigner has changed.

Colleague, upon hearing about this episode: Haha, you really look like nobody.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. PY
    May 11, 2012 at 6:45 am

    I fully understand how u feel. People, both sales n eateries, took me as a Thai in Thailand, Indonesian in Indonesia, Laotian in Laos etc And in Singapore I am still taken as any southeast Asian but Singaporean.

    • May 14, 2012 at 12:09 am

      Good to know i’m not alone in this! We can be spies and blend in with the locals (except in Singapore)!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

